In many states drunk driving charges can be reduced to a wet reckless.
You may be wondering if this plea bargain is available in South Carolina.
A wet reckless law serves as a major traffic violation, although it does
not go down on your record like a DUI charge. In South Carolina though
we don’t have a wet reckless law, instead many DUI charges are reduced
to ordinary reckless driving.
The main difference between a South Carolina reckless driving reduction
and a wet reckless charge is that the South Carolina charge does not require
any alcohol counseling.
The penalties for a South Carolina reckless driving plea would include:
- A fine (currently $440)
- Six DMV Points
- Higher Car Insurance Rates
This is a substantial reduction from a DUI charge, and is a lesser penalty
than a wet reckless would be (if we had that law). But there are still
some other drawbacks:
- A reckless driving conviction can cause employment problems for those who
drive company vehicles
- Two reckless driving convictions in a 5 year period result in a mandatory
90 day suspension
- Three major convictions (such as reckless) result in a habitual offender
designation, suspending a driver’s license for years
While for many it represents a favorable outcome for their case, there
still are important consequences to understand. Our position as defense
attorneys is that our cilent’s should never accept any plea-bargain
unless they are sure it is in their best interest to do so.
Most DUI defendants in South Carolina do not receive an offer to reckless
driving. For this reason if you are interested in learning whether or
not you are likely to receive this, or any other reduction,
contact us for a confidential case evaluation.